search

Marriage

How to Obtain a Marriage License
Persons wishing to obtain a Marriage License must be at least eighteen years old and file their intentions* to marry with a City or Town Clerk in person, both Parties (except for cases where one person is in the military or incarcerated) must come into the office at least three days before the ceremony and have a valid photo ID.
 
In Townsend, the cost of the intentions and  license is $30.00, which includes a copy of the marriage certificate after the ceremony. The license is valid for sixty days, and may be used for a ceremony conducted in any Massachusetts city or town. The member of the clergy or Justice of the Peace who performs the ceremony must sign the license and return it to the city or town where it was issued.
 
  • *Intentions: This is all the information that we need to put on the marriage license. Some Examples are: Name, Address, Maiden Name, Parents names, etc.
     
  • Special Designation: One Day Solemnizer. Any one can become a one day solemnizer special designation for the day by contacting the state. A Justice of the Peace, Minister, Priest... must also apply for a one day solemnizer Special Designation when they are to marry someone from out of the state that they are licensed in.

For a list of other Justices of the Peace, call the Secretary of State's Commissions Section at (617) 727-2836.

For additional information, please call the Townsend Town Clerk at 978-597-1704

Civil Marriage Ceremony
In Massachusetts, civil marriage ceremonies may be performed by a Justice of the Peace. Many City and Town Clerks are Justices of the Peace, and can perform civil ceremonies if scheduled well in advance. The fee is set by state law.
 
Massachusetts law provides the Governor with the authority to designate anyone as a Justice of the Peace for performing a particular marriage ceremony. An application for the special designation** can be obtained by calling the Office of the Chief Secretary at 617-727-5787. The fee for the designation is $25.00.
 
  • For a list of other Justices of the Peace, call the Secretary of State's Commissions Section at (617) 727-2836.
**Special Designation: Any one can become a special designation for the day by contacting the state. A Justice of the Peace, Minister, Priest... must also apply for a Special Designation when they are to marry someone from out of the state that they are licensed in.
 
For additional information, please call the Townsend Town Clerk at 978-597-1704